A (22) | B (29) | C (39) | D (16) | E (14) | F (27) | G (10) | H (16) | I (18) | J (1) | K (6) | L (26) | M (18) | N (8) | O (5) | P (24) | R (10) | S (45) | T (14) | U (11) | V (9) | W (6)
Glossary term Description
European Union

The European Union is a politico-economic union of 28 member states (at 1/1/2016) that are located primarily in Europe. They are:

 Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, the United Kingdom

European Economic Area

European tariff-free zone comprising the members of the EU plus Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein

European Commission

This is the European Union's civil service, headed by a president and 20 commissioners. It proposes new laws and oversees the enforcement of the European Union's existing laws


Estimated time of departure 


Estimated time of arrival

Equator The parallel of 0° Latitude

Electronic position indicating radio beacon. A floating beacon that sends out a distress message and indicates its position via GPS satellites


European Maritime Safety Agency


The exhaust gases from engines. Control limits of sulphur oxides and nitrogen oxides content is being introduced. See also MARPOL, SECA, ECA and CARB


Early departure procedure, normally associated with tankers, whereby vessel departs on completion of loading and paperwork completed